Executive Sponsor

Rafael L. Bras
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs


Richard DeMillo
School of Computer Science, Scheller College of Business, and Center for 21st Century Universities

Bonnie Ferri
School of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Office of Graduate Education and Faculty Development


Steering Committee Members:

Nelson Baker
Georgia Tech Professional Education

Susan Cozzens
Office of Graduate Education and Faculty Development

Jennifer Herazy
Office of the Provost

Mark Hoeting
Office of Information Technology

Charles Isbell
College of Computing

Laurence Jacobs
School of Civil & Environmental Engineering

Colin Potts
Office of Undergraduate Education

Commission Advisors:

Wayne Clough
President Emeritus

Jeff Selingo
Center for 21st Century Universities


Commission Members: 

Paul Anderson
Undergraduate Representative, Business Administration 

Camille Barchers
Graduate Representative, School of City & Regional Planning 

Richard Barke
School of Public Policy 

Carlee Bishop
Georgia Tech Research Institute - Electronic Systems 

Terry Blum
Institute for Leadership and Entrepreneurship 

Sandi Bramblett
Institutional Research & Planning 

Rob Butera
School of Electrical & Computer Engineering 

Ed Coyle
School of Electrical & Computer Engineering 

Mike Cummins
Scheller College of Business 

Jessica Curtis
Office of Undergraduate Admissions 

Lizanne DeStefano

Craig Forest
School of Mechanical Engineering 

Yakut Gazi
Georgia Tech Professional Education 

Ashok ​Goel
School of Interactive Computing 

Steve Harmon
Georgia Tech Professional Education  

Amy Henry
Office of International Education 

Samantha Holloway
Undergraduate Representative, Scheller College of Business  

Bradley Jenkins
Undergraduate Representative, Aerospace Engineering 

Julie Kim
College of Design 

Gordon Kingsley
School of Public Policy 

Quintin Kreth
Graduate Representative, School of Public Policy 

Joe Le Doux
School of Biomedical Engineering, GT/Emory 

Lew Lefton
College of Sciences 

Pete Ludovice
School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 

Usha Nair-Reichert
School of Economics 

Wendy Newstetter
College of Engineering 

Eric Overby
Scheller College of Business 

Mary Lynn Reallf
School of Materials Science & Engineering 

Muhammad Rizwan
Graduate Representative, School of Electrical & Computer Engineering 

Mike Schatz
School of Physics 

Raghupathy Sivakumar
School of Electrical & Computer Engineering 

Chrissy Spencer
School of Biology 

Bing Wang
Assistant Dean of the Library

Don Webster
School of Civil and Environmental Engineering 

Joyce Weinsheimer
Center for Teaching and Learning 

Ellen Zegura
School of Computer Science 


External Advisory Board Members:

Mike Anderson, IE '79, Georgia Tech Foundation Board & Alexander-Tharpe Fund Board

Kelly Barrett, IM '86, Scheller College of Business Advisory Board & Georgia Tech Foundation Board

Reza Ghorieshi, CS '96, College of Computing Advisory Board & School of Interactive Computing Advisory Board

Andrea Laliberte, BIE '82, MIE '84, Georgia Tech Advisory Board (Ex Officio) & Alumni Trustee Board

Wonya Lucas, IE '83, College of Engineering Advisory Board

Sue Payne, PHYS '75, College of Sciences Advisory Board

Paul Raines, IE '85, ISyE Advisory Board & Georgia Tech Foundation Board

Tom Saylor, Biol '70, College of Science Advisory Board & GT Lorraine Advisory Board

Surishtha (Sue) Sehgal, C21U Advisory Board

Bill Todd, IM '71, Georgia Tech Foundation Board

Alan Warren, PHYS '78, Georgia Tech Advisory Board & College of Computing Advisory Board

Admiral James A. "Sandy" Winnefeld, Jr. (Ret.) AE '78, Georgia Tech Advisory Board

Janice Wittscheiebe, BS ARCH '78, MARCH '80, College of Design Executive Council

Rick Zalesky, CE '78, College of Engineering Advisory Board & School of Civil and Environmental Engineering Advisory Board


Commission Speaker Series:

"Wave 5: The University of the Future" 
Michael M. Crow, President, Arizona State University

November 9, 2016

"The Future of Higher Education – Harnessing Software to Enhance Learning Outcomes and Support Teaching"
David Levin, President and CEO, McGraw-Hill Education (2014-2017)
September 1, 2016

"Ready to Learn, Ready to Live, Ready to Lead"
Caitlin Dooley, Deputy Superintendent, Georgia Department of Education
June 7, 2016

"Creating Innovation in Higher Education Budget Models"
Rick Staisloff, founder and principal of rpkGroup, a higher education consulting group
May 26, 2016

"Cyberlearning and educational technology: Current R&D, future trends, and how educational institutions will need to change"
Chris Hoadley, associate professor in the Educational Communication and Technology Program, the Program in Digital Media Design for Learning, and the Program on Games for Learning at NYU - ​Steinhardt
May 11, 2016

"The Integration of Teaching, Learning and Assessment: A Design-Based Approach"
Jim Pellegrino, co-director of Learning Sciences Research Institute, Liberal Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor, and Distinguished Professor of Education at the University of Illinois at Chicago
April 26, 2016

“How We Ought to Change our Great Research Universities”
Jonathan Cole, Former Provost, Columbia University
May 24, 2017


Staff Acknowledgments:
Brittany Aiello, Center for 21st Century Universities
Juana Cunningham, Strategic Consulting 

Julie D’huyvetter, Center for 21st Century Universities
Susie Ivy, Institute Communications
Rob Kadel, Center for 21st Century Universities
Halcyon Lawrence, School of Literature, Media and Communication
Matt Lisle, Center for 21st Century Universities
Nicole Moore, Center for 21st Century Universities
Cara-Joy Wong, Office of the Provost


Students of CS 4001 (Spring 2017)


Student Shadow Group Participation
Paul Anderson
Thomas Koelle
Zoe Sieling
Murray Smith
Annie Son
Hayley Tsuchiyama

U.S. Department of Education
USA Funds
McGraw-Hill Education
Lumina Foundation
International Futures Forum
MIT Office of Digital Learning
Steel Case Corporation


We are also indebted to the following individuals who generously helped with the Commission’s work:
Jean-Lou Chameau
Graham Leicester
David Levin
Tom Moore
Bill Sharpe

Page Navigation

Previous Page: Supplements